BOARD TALK | iconic

Converge’s Dennis Anthony Uy to represent PH in EY’s prestigious World Entrepreneur of The Year after being named Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2022

By ICON Executive Asia
Published November 22, 2022

SGV Foundation Inc.’s for the Philippines’ most successful and inspiring entrepreneurs is over.

Of the 18 finalists from diverse industries, Dennis Anthony Uy, the CEO and co-founder of local internet service provider Converge ICT Solutions, Inc. (Converge), has recently been named the Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines 2022.

A self-made entrepreneur and a game-changer in his field, Uy was recognized for his passion for technology, his desire to bring internet connectivity to Filipinos, his vision to serve the “unserved and underserved,” and his ability to stay ahead of the competition with his intent to lead the country toward a fiber-powered future.

With this recognition, Uy will represent the country in Ernst & Young’s prestigious World Entrepreneur of The Year awards in Monte Carlo, Monaco in June 2023.

According to a report by BusinessWorld, other awards for the Young Entrepreneur, Technology Entrepreneur, Small Business Entrepreneur, Woman Entrepreneur, and Emerging Entrepreneur categories were presented during the awards banquet at the Grand Hyatt Manila.

Leandro Antonio Leviste, CEO and president of Solar Philippines Power Project Holdings, Inc., received the Young Entrepreneur Award for establishing one of Southeast Asia’s largest solar energy production companies. The company recently secured 2,000 hectares of land bordering Nueva Ecija and Bulacan for a project it considers the “largest solar farm” in the world.

Steve Sy, CEO of Great Deals E-Commerce Corp., was meanwhile named the Technology Entrepreneur for establishing the e-commerce juggernaut in the Philippines. The company, which secured Series B financing earlier this year, addresses the needs of various brands in selling merchandise online with solutions spanning from end-to-end e-commerce services, digital content and web design assistance, warehousing and fulfillment, analytics, and chat support.

Francisco Magsaysay, CEO of Carmen’s Best Dairy Products, Inc., was named the Small Business Entrepreneur Awardee for demonstrating management excellence to bring a small business with assets of less than P100 million in value to new heights. What started from his garage, Carmen’s Best Dairy Products Inc., is now the first home-grown premium ice cream brand in the country.

Lisset Laus-Velasco, chairman and CEO of Global Cars Philippines, Inc., was recognized as the Woman Entrepreneur. Laus-Velasco spent years learning the rudiments of various business units before taking on a leadership role.

Finally, for the role he occupies in leading the first Philippine app-based motorcycle ride-hailing platform through attempts of being shut down and towards legitimizing motorcycle taxi service in the country, George Royeca, CEO of DBDOYC, Inc. (Angkas), was named Emerging Entrepreneur.

The Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines is a program of the SGV Foundation, Inc. that “celebrates the unstoppable entrepreneurs whose unbounded ambitions deliver innovation, growth and prosperity that transform our world.” The program is produced with the participation of co-presenters the Asian Institute of Management, the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), the Philippine Business for Social Progress, and the Philippine Stock Exchange (PSE). 

The Entrepreneur Of The Year, on the other hand, is an annual awards program produced globally by Ernst & Young (EY). that honors and recognizes the achievements of the most successful and innovative entrepreneurs worldwide.

Other finalists were Ricardo Abelardo, Jr. (Artemisplus Express, Inc. or Kitchen City), Roberto Chan (Atlanta Industries, Inc.), Allyxon Cua (Accent Micro Technologies, Inc.), Ana de Ocampo (Wild Flour Bakery + Café Corp.), Jacqueline Jade Gutierrez (Beauty Refinery, Inc./BLK Cosmetics), Raymond Jarina (INTECO Isuzu Group of Dealerships), Robert Lo (RDF Feed, Livestock & Foods, Inc.), Jeffrey Ng (Cathay Land, Inc.), Ibrahim Nuño, (Metro Stonerich Corp.), Aileen Suy (Ana’s Breeders Farms, Inc.), Maria Francesca Tan (MFT Group of Companies), and Antonio Ynoc (Prime Movers Total Logistics, Inc.)